The Giant Zucchini Invasion!

Volunteer in the garden (zucchini/squash crossbreed)

Run, run for your lives!  It’s that time of year again!  Coworkers bringing in those overgrown giant zucchini!  How can you politely turn them down and tell them it’s beyond bread making?  But you have to be happy that they have gardens and are planting.  But boy do I know about zucchini!  One year, I had 12 plants!  What can I say, I love to plant.  But I did wind up tossing 11 of them into the compost bin.  Some interesting facts about “courgette” from Wikipedia:

“Zucchini is one of the easiest fruits to cultivate in temperate climates. As such, it has a reputation among home gardeners for overwhelming production. One good way to control over-abundance is to harvest the flowers, which are an expensive delicacy in markets because of the difficulty in storing and transporting them. The male flower is borne on the end of a stalk and is longer lived.”

This year I had a zucchini cross volunteer in my garden.  The picture is shown here.  It started out fat.  I gave a few away and the comments coming back said they were tasty.  I did grill one and it tasted like a yellow squash actually.   I have a hard time pulling up a plant in the garden.  I typically let them grow where they begin and work around them.  But I did pull this one recently and it is a nice edition to the nitrogenous ingredients in my compost bin.

2 Replies to “The Giant Zucchini Invasion!”

  1. Though I do not eat zucchini, I love zucchini bread. One of my clients has a great recipe. You want I ask her for it?

    1. I am not much of a zucchini lover. I have grown them because I love to grow, but gave them away. Always tried to give away when very small. I wouldn’t mind the recipe and you can share it here if she doesn’t mind.

Leave a Reply

