Gawd, save the Bees!

“The pedigree of honey Does not concern the bee; A clover, any time, to him Is aristocracy.”  ~ Emily Dickinson

I found this piece on honeybees by Lynne Eley, Colorado Master GardenerSM, Colorado State University Cooperative Extension, Denver.   Honeybees   It says a lot about them in a short piece.

So much one could write about honeybees.  So much research to do first.  I’m considering becoming a suburban beekeeper next year.  Honey farmer, apiarist, honey producer farmer, pollination bee keeper, queen producer.  So many different areas.  What I really want is to attract more bees to my yard, to my neighborhood.  And hopefully produce some honey as well.

I have planted many sunflower varieties and my front yard is a wild mix of those  among echinacea, rudbeckia, cosmos, hollyhocks, coreopsis, Jupiter’s Beard, asters, cornflower, butterfly bush and golden yarrow.  You see, I’ve been removing more and more grass and continually widening the flower beds.  My gardens are a constant buzz of excitement!  As the bees move from one flower to another, the Tiger Swallowtails are fluttering around, while the warblers and finches enjoy the abundance of seeds.

But honeybees, they say, are dying off and disappearing!  Oh how can that be?  And why?  So off I am to research more about it and will report back at a later time.

And thanks to all the honeybees for the delicious local honey that I used to make the Honey Peach jam last night!  Es schmeckt gut!

7 Replies to “Gawd, save the Bees!”

  1. You may find this interesting: http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2012/jun/07/honey-bees-virus-varrora-destructor-mites?INTCMP=SRCH

    There is also a documentary called ‘Vanishing of the Bees’ which was filmed in 2009 – it is a little old now, as they currently seem to be doing a lot of research into this, but still interesting!

    I’m planning to watch Queen of the Sun soon (it’s on netflix)!! And was filmed in 2010, here is the link for the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2vQ5PV-bNtM

  2. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm for bees. Suburban bee-keeping is starting to take off and I have joined a group to learn more. There’s actually not a lot to it, and is easier than keeping chickens in many regards. Especially if one can mentor under an experienced bee-keeper. Sometimes there are bee-keepers that provide the hive, 2x monthly visits with all the care, and a share of the honey at the end of the season! We just need to provide a corner of the back yard garden and a small space for their own privacy – not much really – and even homeowners in the city can help! I also like to help by growing native flowering plants, which apparently really helps local bees because they’re programmed to recognize those plants. Long comment from a fellow bee-lover 🙂

    1. Thanks. I will look into this. Am taking a backyard chicken class this month, but may wait until I make a major move possibly to Northern California in 2014. But I can begin with bees. Someone around me must have a hive because I attract quite a huge number to my gardens.

    2. I too grow many native plants and native wildflowers. Continually covering up the grass and creating an instant garden. The front of my suburban yard is nearly covered in wildflowers, sunflowers. I keep the dead flowers up throughout winter as the birds that remain are still feeding from them. The backyard is becoming an small orchard and the garden is increasing. I like that people stop and look at the different flowers along with lots of birds and bees that are visiting as well. It’s also why I live in a NON-HOA hood.

      1. I can completely relate to your grass being converted to wildflowers and sunflowers, and I let everything stay all winter too. The other day a chickadee was pecking at the dried blooms of Goldenrod, and I’ve seen them on the standing Echinacea heads too. And the plant stalks add winter interest to the snow-buried garden up here where I live. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

